What Is Courage?

Prompt: put aside fear for courage

Lucas frowned slightly as he listened to Sweetin explain his thought process and what had led him to this point. He looked up at Morgan when the artist had finally wound down.

She sighed softly and shook her head. “It was rather foolish of you to try and handle this alone, Ezra,” she said, reaching out and taking his hands in hers. “What were you thinking?”

“I… guess I was trying to protect you,” Ezra murmured. He laughed, then, and said something that shocked Lucas. “I thought… as it’s me they want, this might be the best way to do that. If I run, they’ll follow me and leave you alone.”

Lucas scowled. Sweetin seemed like such a coward – letting people make decisions for him and doing what the Underground wanted just to keep them from hurting him. He’d listened to them, even when he knew what they wanted him to do was wrong.

At the same time, though… Morgan said he was a confidential informant with the Agency. He’d been reporting on Underground activities for nearly two years. Now, he’d put himself at risk to protect someone who was trained to defend herself. He was foolish, that was true. However, it was a foolishness that Lucas had to respect.

Ezra smiled faintly and said, “I’m rather glad you’re here now, though.” His cheeks darkened and he shrugged. “I don’t think I’ve ever been so frightened in all my life.” Lucas couldn’t help but smile at his words.

Leave a Reply

