King of Anything

Prompt: considered then straight on delivered

Today was horrible day. Every time his mother visited, it was the same thing. Ezra listened patiently while his mother went on and on about how he was wasting his life. Actually, if he was perfectly honest, he wasn’t listening. He was staring outside at the cars that were passing by the cafe. There seemed to be more than normal.

He thought, for the briefest of moments, of getting up and just walking out of there. He could imagine the shocked look on his mother’s face if he did that.

“Are you listening to me, Ezra?” his mother said, the tone cutting through his daydreaming.

He winced and looked at his mother. “No,” he admitted. He sighed and held up a hand to stop her from repeating the entire argument. “Mother, we’ve been through this before,” he said. “I could make more money if I was in a different line of work. I don’t care about that. I like what I do and I make enough money.”

“Honey, how can you say that?” she said, smiling in a way he recognized as placating. It wasn’t an honest smile. Secretly, she thought he was being stupid. Secretly, she was frowning in confusion. How could she have raised such a fool?

Ezra laughed and reached out, gently taking his mother’s hands in his own. “I know is a difficult concept for you, Mother, so I’ll go slowly. I like my life. I am, by no means, the starving artist dressed in rags and uncertain where my next meal might come from. I make a comfortable living at it.”

“But… enough money?” For a moment, she just shook her head. “How can you have enough money?”

Ezra laughed and stood. He leaned over and kissed his mother on the cheek. “I’ll see you again soon, Mother,” he said, setting down more than enough money to pay for both of their meals. As he slipped out of the cafe, he could hear his mother calling him back – reminding him about his change.

“That’s the tip, Mother,” he called back, as the door slid shut behind him. Then, he turned his steps towards home. Today was a very good day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 08:53:27

    I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

