Grateful

Ezra stared out over the snowy white fields with a faint smile on his face. He heard Morgan step into the room and spoke without looking over at her. “You know,” he said, “if we ever see him again, I’ll have to thank Master Starbright – and Devin too.”

“Is that so?” Morgan said, stepping into the room to set her hands on his shoulders. She leaned close and whispered, “For sending you to this charming backwater? I’d think you had Keller to thank for that.”

Ezra laughed and set his hand over hers. “No,” he said. He looked up at her and shook his head. “They believed in me at a time when… well, I hardly believed in myself. Devin listened to me and Chris took a chance with me. It… sent me down a different path in life.”

He smiled warmly and said, “One that led me to… the first person I can honestly say I have loved.”

Morgan sighed softly and leaned down to kiss him on the forehead. “I guess I’ll have to thank them too, then,” she said.

Leave a Reply

