Small Things

Ryan growled as the gear slipped for the fourth time. Without thinking, he reached out and grabbed it. “Oh,” he cried, pulling his hand back and cradling it to his chest. Tears welled in his eyes.

“All right?” Julian asked, frowning.

Flushing, Ryan sighed. “I burned my hand,” he admitted. “Stupid! I know it’s hot. So why did I touch it?”

Julian smiled. “Can I help you out?”

Nodding, Ryan told him what needed to be done. Soon the system was working correctly. “And I’m off to med-bay.” It was the little things that reminded them how young he was.

Leave a Reply

