Dear Diary #6

Master Prescott told me today, that I will have special chores from now on. He thinks I could learn to be a special kind of servant – who works inside the house. He asked one of the men who works for him to cut my hair. I was very upset. I didn’t want a haircut, but that didn’t matter. He cut my hair anyway, because it was how Master Prescott wanted it.

Sister says that I shouldn’t let it bother me. After all, it’s only hair and hair grows. Somehow, though, I don’t think I’m bothered as much by having the haircut as the fact that no one asked me before they decided to do it. They didn’t ask me how I wanted it cut. They just cut it. Now, it sticks up in places. It looked nice and neat before. Now, I need to put grease in it to make it lay flat.

The only good thing about my new chores is that I won’t have to be outside, working in the sun all the time, anymore. I’m so pale and the sun was too hot the other day. I feel much better at the end of the day now than I did then. Maybe it won’t be too bad living here. I’m still not sure, though.

Leave a Reply

