Dear Diary #11

I’ve made my way across the territorial boundary. Hopefully, that will make it more difficult for Master Prescott’s men to track me. They almost had me yesterday. It’s only through the kindness of a stranger that I got away at all.

I had stopped at a little outpost. There weren’t really enough people to call it a town. There was just the stage office, a general store, a saloon and a stable where a blacksmith could shoe horses or sell a horse, if folks needed one. Since I’d walked there, I was exhausted. I didn’t have enough for a bed anywhere, but the blacksmith said I could sleep in one of the empty stalls. I think he felt bad for me.

In any case, I was nearly asleep when I heard men come in. They described me to the blacksmith and asked if he had seen me. For some reason, the man lied to them. He said that I’d taken a horse and rode out of town towards the south. Once they’d left, he suggested that I head east. He even gave me food and a little money. I can’t understand it, but I’m not going to question it, either. I’ll remember that smith, though, in my prayers each night.

Leave a Reply

