Dear Diary #30

It’s my birthday today. I’ve just turned fourteen years old. It’s strange, but I would have forgotten entirely, except that Master Noah asked me when my birthday was. He was surprised to find that it was today. I figured that would be the end of it. Then, I was the one who was surprised.

Master Noah got together with the others – Miss Fiona, Master Frank, Master Jim and even Shepherd – and arranged a party for me. There was a cake and gifts. I haven’t had a birthday party since I was little – when I was still with my mother. I don’t think any of them realized how special it was. The gifts were just small things that they’d made quickly or picked up that day. However, that hardly mattered. It meant so much more to me that… they cared enough to give me a party!

Liz and Ben were also invited and we played together after the presents had been opened and the cake had been eaten. We played until their parents came to collect them.

When I first came into the care of Master Noah, I told him that I wouldn’t called him Dad or Pa or any of those terms one uses for their father. After all, he’d only taken me in because he was ordered to do so. At least, that’s what I thought at the time. Now, however, I’m not so sure. Could it possibly be that he took me in because he actually wants to look after me?

Leave a Reply

