He really didn’t mean it.

Please, pardon the place-holder name for the baby. I’ll figure out a name for him later…

**

“What did you do?” he asked, his voice faint. He shook his head and waved at the cards. “Look at this! Nothing but portents of death and danger and destruction! What did you do?” His voice had gotten higher and louder as he spoke. By the time he had finished, his voice cracked.

When [lovey] started crying, Peter winced. “Sorry,” he said, as Robin hurried over to the bassinet.

“It’s all right, love,” Robin said, shaking her head. She lifted [lovey] out of the bassinet and hugged him to her chest. As she held him close, he quieted.

“It’s that bad?” Alaric said, frowning. He didn’t understand how Peter read the fortune cards. To him, they were nothing more than playing cards. However, he knew that Peter’s readings were frightfully accurate.

Peter grimaced and shook his head. “Literally every card I’ve turned since you left could be read as a sign of danger or a warning of impending doom,” he said. He sighed and looked at Robin. “I was beside myself, my love.”

“I could sense a shadow fae at the scene of the crime,” she explained. “Lord Rathmore used a spell to identify… I’m guessing it was meant to show the source of the darkness I was also sensing.”

“And I inadvertently opened a portal to hell,” he said, nodding.

Peter winced. “Please, for the love of all Creation,” he said, “don’t do that again, my lord.”

“Yes, well, seeing as I didn’t mean to do it the first time,” Alaric said, shrugging.

Leave a Reply

