The Importance of Finishing

Last month, I wrote a little about finishing what I’d started. One of the things I didn’t mention was that one of my goals for this year is to clean out my folder of works in progress. Ever since January, I have been picking two stories each month and working on them, with the goal of getting them finished.

It hasn’t always been easy. Sometimes, I’ll look at a story and just have no idea where I was going with that idea. Other time, I’ve made things easier for myself by having written an outline – however rough – so that I had an idea of what I was thinking when I started the story.

One of the things that has helped me tremendously was the fact that I actually took the time to list each story I started last year. This year, I went one more step and added what universe each story was in. That makes it easier to find the story in the many folders on my memory stick.

Do you have a story that is sitting somewhere, half-finished? Why don’t you try reading it over and seeing if it’s ready for you to work some more on it?

Leave a Reply

