The Stars Say Goodnight

Here is the final section of the story… It’s sort of a character exploration that sets up further things for Mikas.  Now that he’s settled in Andrien’s household, the purpose of the story is achieved.

**

Once Mikas was showered and shaved, he returned to his own room to dress.  He was heading down the stairs when he met Lady Darina on the stairs.  He bowed his head politely when she greeted him.  He wasn’t certain if Andrien had mentioned his nightmare to her or not.  Either way, she didn’t say anything about it as she led the way to the breakfast room.

Mikas gave Andrien a wan smile.  “Realizing that I ate with you last night,” he said, frowning.  “I wasn’t certain if that was going to be the norm or if I’d usually eat with your other servants.”

“You’ve got to be at my side,” Andrien said, shrugging.  Then, he shook his head.  “I think we’d both be better served if you ate with us, Mikas.”  Then, he smiled as Brogan stepped into the room with a tray carrying bacon, hardboiled eggs, fruit and porridge, as well as a pot of tea.  After setting out the food, she poured tea for the three people at the table.

Mikas waited until Lady Darina and Andrien had both served themselves before he took a couple eggs and a bowl of porridge.  As he dished some of the fruit on top of his fruit, he looked over at Andrien.  “I wanted to… thank you for waking me this morning,” he said.

“That’s no problem,” Andrien said, shaking his head.  His brows furrowed.  “Do you have any idea what the dream was about?”

Sighing, Mikas closed his eyes.  “It was dark in the room,” he said, his voice soft.  Then, he described the dream as best as he could recall.  He finished by saying, “And then, you woke me.”  He opened his eyes and shrugged.  “I’m not sure what it may have meant.  Nicholai thought it might be that… maybe she’s one of the alters that I don’t know yet.”

“If… she is another personality, however unknown,” Andrien said, frowning, “I wonder why she would be so frightening for you.  After all, you aren’t afraid of any of the others.  Are you?”

“Not even Alexei,” Dmitri murmured.  “That’s a good question, Mikas.”

Mikas nodded in agreement with both of them.  “I don’t know why she’d frighten me,” he said.  He frowned.  “I’ve never been afraid of the others.  I was afraid of the blackouts I’d have and… there are other strange things: compulsions to do things, headaches, forgetfulness…” he trailed off.  “It scared me that people would tell that I’d say or do something and then… I wouldn’t remember it or – or seemed so strange – out of character, I mean.”

“Yes, I imagine most of those things would be frightful to experience,” Andrien said, his voice soft.

He heaved a sigh and shook his head.  “That’s why I thought that I was going crazy at first,” he murmured.  “Then, when I found out about the others, everything made such sense that… I guess I was relieved.”  He shrugged.  “It’s odd, but, in a way, it was so much less scary to know that all the strangeness was from them, you know?”

“All of those symptoms are from your other personalities?” Lady Darina asked, her eyes wide with curiosity.

Nodding, Mikas said, “The compulsions come from them, I know that.  Like… yesterday, I grabbed a book off your shelf and opened it to a random passage.  Then, I realized it was the holy book and…” He paused with a smile.  “That was Dmitri.  He’s very religious, so he’s always reading the holy book.”

“And the forgetfulness would come from one of them taking over,” Andrien said, nodding.

Mikas nodded.  “It can last for as little as a moment or two,” he said, his voice soft.  “Other times, it lasts for days.  It’s triggered by… fear or anxiety, I think.”  He shrugged.  A faint smile touched his lips.  “You’re both so… accepting of this.  Thank you and… thank you for giving me a chance here and a home.”

Andrien chuckled.  “Let’s see if you’re still thanking me when it comes time to act,” he said, shaking his head.  “As Cedar said, I tend to attract trouble.”

“That’ll just make things more fun,” Mikas said, giving Andrien a playful wink.  Then, he chuckled softly and focused his attention on his breakfast.  For the first time since he’d left home – really, for even longer – he felt as if things were going right for him.  Perhaps he would see the councilor.  As the others said, it couldn’t hurt, right?

Leave a Reply

