O Muse

This little scene was inspired by a word prompt (the title) from the WriYe DreamWidth.  Thinking of muses immediately made me think of Quinten.

**

Quinten frowned speculatively at Charity.  Then he drew out his sketchbook and began drawing.  When he looked up at her again, she was frowning at him.  “Don’t mind me, my dear,” he said, shaking his head.  “Just go about your business.”

“I’m embroidering,” Charity said, scowling.  When Quinten nodded, she blinked.  “Are you drawing me… while I embroider?”

Shrugging, Quentin said, “All the greats drew and painted people while they were doing normal, mundane things, Charity.  Why shouldn’t I make a piece of you embroidering?”  He grinned suddenly and waved at her to continue her embroidering.  “I’ll call it ‘Wolf at Work’.”

Charity rolled her eyes.  “You’re crazy,” she said, turning back to her work.

Looking back at his sketchbook, he said, “You can never tell what will inspire you, my dear.”

Leave a Reply

