What an Odd Thing

This month has been so crazy for me that I haven’t been keeping up with my writing blog the way I’d have hoped. However, I’m mostly caught up now, so I can at least begin posting everything I’ve written.

This first piece was inspired by a picture prompt from the WriYe DreamWidth. It’s set in my National Museum and Archives Universe – the National Museum and Archives is a repository of magical books and artifacts. Jakob is in charge of collections, while Kasper is in charge of research.

**

4ec723efcf37f7d0c69c10753843cb31“What is that?” Jakob asked.

Kasper looked up from the tiny thing he had constructed. He smiled and held it up on one finger. “It’s a little butterfly,” he said. Chuckling, he added, “Sort of.”

Jakob stepped closer to the worktable. The tiny thing looked delicate. It had miniature gears and pins. It looked, to him, exactly like a tiny fairy with butterfly wings.

“What are you going to do with that?” Jakob said, shaking his head.

Kasper grinned and shrugged. “I think we can use magic to animate it,” he said, his eyes twinkling with glee. “Then, it can carry messages for us.”

Jakob shook his head and chuckled softly. “Do you think that such a tiny thing will be able to carry anything?”

“Why not?” Kasper asked, grinning.

Leave a Reply

