To See the Truth

This little scene with Johannes, Dorian and Mykolas was inspired by a phrase prompt from the WriYe DreamWidth: “With our own eyes we see”.  Dorian is from Dragon Age: Inquisition.

**

“Let me,” Johannes said, dropping to his knees beside the injured man.  He held his hands, palms down, over the injury and began to sing.

After a moment, Dorian could see the wounds knitting back together.  He stared in surprise when the young man took a deep breath and then moaned.  “You healed him,” Dorian said, touching Johannes lightly on one shoulder.

Nodding, Johannes ended the song and gave Dorian a weak smile.  “The elders keep telling me that I can only heal members of my own family, but… I figured he’s our cousin.  Even if he’s another True Cross, he’s still related.”

Dorian nodded.  “It seems that you were correct,” he said.  He frowned slightly at Johannes, trying to figure out if the boy had pushed himself too far.  He seemed to do that rather often.  After a moment, he turned to the young man that was just waking.

“The Singer,” he breathed.

“I purified it,” Johannes said, his tone brisk.  More gently, he said, “Right before I healed you.  Are you all right, Mykolas?”

“You… of course,” he said, nodding.  He laughed and shook his head.  “That means I could have healed Frieda after all!”

“That was almost two years ago,” Johannes said, getting to his feet.  “Don’t worry about it now!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 00:01:24

    I like a world where singing is healing. Isn’t Dragon Age a game? I wish I had the time and money and bandwidth for gaming. Trying out LARPing this year!

    Reply

    • Heather
      Jan 07, 2016 @ 08:52:19

      Yes, Dragon Age is a game. I don’t actually play it, but I’ve read a lot of fanfic for it and seen play-throughs on YouTube. This is kind of an AU/Crossover. Johannes and his family are my own original characters.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

