Creative Solutions

This little scene was inspired by a phrase prompt from the WriYe DreamWidth (somebody forgot the corkscrew).  Apparently, this will really work, not that I’ve ever had the opportunity to try it out.

**

“Sorry that I’m late,” Konrad said as he stepped into the kitchen.  He frowned at Henry and then at the others.  “Why are we all just standing around watching the pasta boil?” he asked, shaking his head.  He looked at Gabriel.  “I’d have thought you would have the wine opened by the time I arrived.”

“We can’t find the corkscrew,” Aidan said, shrugging.  He smirked, adding, “None of us can figure out how to open it without one.”

“Oh,” Konrad said.  He grinned and kicked off his shoe.  “Give me the bottle.  I want to try something.”  The others looked at him strangely but he ignored them.  He pushed the bottle into the shoe.  It fit snuggly, which was perfect.  Then, he rapped the heel of the shoe firmly against the wall.

Henry chuckled and nodded.  “I wondered what you were doing when you took off your shoe,” he said, his voice soft.

Shrugging, Konrad tugged the bottle out of his shoe and, after dropping the shoe onto the floor, set the bottle on the countertop.  The cork was out of the bottle by just enough that he could grab hold of it and tug it free.

“I saw it on the internet,” he said, shrugging.  “I wanted to see if it would work.”

“I’m glad it did,” Gabriel said, grinning.  He already had the wine glasses ready.  Taking the bottle, he began serving his guests.  “You’re a life saver, Konrad!”

Taking a glass, Konrad toasted the older man.  “Least I could do,” he said, his voice soft.

Leave a Reply

